Nebraska’s Crap-tacular Licence Plate Contest

UPDATE:  Due to election discussion, we have pushed back the on-air discussion of the new Nebraska plates until Wednesday’s show.  Barring a breaking news story (and we’re not talking cable tv “breaking-news-when-it-really-isn’t-breaking-news”), we’ll take up this topic on Wednesday morning’s show at 7:35am.  Prepare to vent.

Here we go again.  The state of Nebraska is asking us to vote on our new licence plate design which will adorn our cars starting in 2011.  You might have guessed by the title of my post, that I am less than impressed with this year’s finalists, which are the licence plate beauty contest equivilent to a Miss America contest that comes down to Whoopi Goldberg, Amy Winehouse, the old lady from “The Goonies” and 1980′s Cyndi Lauper.

I don’t mean to be harsh to the fine folks who designed these four entries, but for cripes sake can’t anyone design an attractive licence plate for this state that once people see it, they will universally say “Holy crap!  That’s gonna look great on my car!  I’ll buy another car just so I can have another set!”

For examples of what other states have done, look around at this website.  Quick, how many of you use to cringe everytime you saw those blue with white letter adorned Iowegan cars?  It was like a scarlet letter that screamed “Look out, I have no clue what I am doing so be prepared to brake without warning.”

Here’s where you can vote.  The only real choice I see is the one with the meadowlark.  It’s different than what we’ve had before and it actually has stuff in it beyond the same old state capitol-Chimney Rock-farm animals motif that seems to have taken a stranglehold over our “we-don’t-want-to-do-Husker-themed-plates-for-fear-that-everyone-will-figure-out-that-we-really-are-single-minded.”  Here’s a look at some of our “winners” from past years.  I still remember fondly the Bi-centennial “Indian head” plates because those were the first ones I recall – and they looked great on dad’s old ’72 Impala.

7 Responses to Nebraska’s Crap-tacular Licence Plate Contest

  1. Dave Marsh says:

    I like the design of the one with the bird and the wild weed. But you’re right the colors are a little icky. Should have at least a LITTLE RED on it.

  2. Gene says:

    I checked around that site at other states’ license plates and really didn’t think that our plates are that inferior, artistically speaking.

  3. Charlie says:

    Why no “NONE OF THE ABOVE” choice on this survey by Nebraska DMV? I agree with you, John. They are all gauche! I don’t even like pastel colors for automobiles, I certainly don’t want any of these wispy, lame, ugly plates on my car. Not that my car is so beautiful, but I do have SOME dignity left. Now, back in the mid ‘fifties, when cars were beautiful, so were license plates! They had mass, character, contrast, and made an impact. Furthermore, you could actually READ them. I think it’s time to lose the talentless designer and let kindergarteners come up with far superior ideas. On the past years you list – I like 1969.

  4. cindy hochstetler says:

    I voted for the one with the yellow color/state bird and flower. At least I am guessing that’s the state bird and flower. I don’t like the others at all and I never would have designed something like these four. I like color and EXCITEMENT in license plates. They should be RED! Sorry I cannot get excited over the one with the state capitol building on it. I cannot get past the similarity to a certain symbol, if you know what I mean. My favorite all time license plate was the “Don’t Mess with Texas” on it. Being a Texan, you’d expect that from me.

  5. jackm1400 says:

    Cindy? You’re from Texas originally? That explains a lot :). I kid, I kid.

    Just a preview of what I’ll be saying tomorrow–there’s no reason we should have anything but a red license plate in Nebraska.

  6. Charlie says:

    Okay, Dave, Cindy, & Jack:
    I will change my vote to 1972 (it’s red instead of the 1969 black lettering on a cream background).

  7. Adam says:

    I will miss the old Nebraska logo. It’s been in that flashy italic font for quite a long time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

